Jean Richafort (±1480-after 1547) Salve Regina

So many copys of his music survive that it’s clear Richafort was held in considerable respect by his contemporaries. His setting of the Salve Regina has been found in the private music collection of one of Francois I’s diplomats, Cathedrals throughout Europe, and among a set of richly illuminated manuscripts presented to Ferdinand, Archduke of Austria. It’s a remarkable example of early sixteenth century polyphony.


Video Source: Jean Richafort (±1480-after 1547) Salve Regina – YouTube  Published on 19 Sep 2012 by markfromireland

Text: Salve Regina

[showhide type=”showtext” more_text=” Click to show/hide text ” less_text=” Click to show/hide text ” hidden=”yes”]

LatinEnglish Translation
Salve regina, mater misericordiae,
vita, dulcedo et spes nostra salve.
Ad te clamamus exsules filii Hevae,
ad te suspiramus gementes et flentes
in hac lacrimarum valle.
Eia ergo advocata nostra
illos tuos misericordes oculos ad nos converte.
Et Iesum benedictum fructum ventris tui
nobis post hoc exsilium ostende.
O clemens, o pia, o dulcis virgo Maria.
Hail, O queen, mother of mercy,
our life, sweetness and hope, hail.
To thee do we sigh, daughter of Eve,
mourning and weeping
in this vale of tears.
O you our advocate,
turn on us thy merciful eyes.
And after this our exile show unto us Jesus,
the blessed fruit of thy womb.
O merciful, O loving, O sweet virgin Mary.

2 thoughts on “Jean Richafort (±1480-after 1547) Salve Regina

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *