Cristóbal de Morales (c1500-1553): Regina caeli a 6 (motet)

Cristóbal de Morales composed several settings of Regina Caeli, this one is a six-part setting (SSAATB) that takes the chant’s melody and subjects it to canonical treatment with a canon between the second soprano and second alto parts. Enjoy :-)


Cristóbal de Morales (c1500-1553): Regina caeli a 6 (motet)
Antiphon to the Blessed Virgin Mary in Paschal Time

Regina caeli, laetare, alleluia.
Quia quem meruisti portare, alleluia.
Resurrexit, sicut dixit, alleluia.
Ora pro nobis Deum, alleluia.

Queen of heaven, rejoice, alleluia.
For he whom you were worthy to bear, alleluia.
Has risen as he said, alleluia.
Pray for us to God, alleluia.

  • Author of text: Anonymous – liturgical
  • Performers: The Brabant Ensemble conducted by Stephen Rice

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *